Open Call: Seed Grant for New African Principal Investigators

Deadline: 24-May-22

UNESCO-TWAS (the World Academy of Sciences) has launched a new program to build the capacities of African countries lagging behind in science and technology.

The program is aimed at young scientists who are moving to their country or are about to return home to take up an academic position.

The Starting Grant for New African Principal Investigators (SG-NAPI) is fully funded by the German Ministry of Education and Research (BMBF).

Grants, which are normally awarded for a period of 24 months, may be used to purchase scientific equipment, consumables, which may partially include fieldwork and maintenance of equipment and specialized literature (textbooks and proceedings only ).


Scientists working in the following research areas can apply for an SG-NAPI fellowship:

  • Agriculture
  • Biology
  • Chemistry
  • Earth Science
  • Engineering
  • information computer technology
  • Math
  • Medical sciences
  • Physics
Funding Information

Research grants to research units are up to a maximum of US$67,700.

Eligibility criteria

To apply in 2022, applicants must meet the following criteria:

  • Be under 40 years old.
  • Obtained their doctorate. over the last 5 years.
  • Returned to their country of origin within the past 36 months.
  • Hold, be offered or be in the process of accepting a position in an academic and/or research institution (including international research centers) in their home country.
  • Be nationals of an eligible African country lagging behind in science and technology, as follows:
    • West Africa: Benin, Burkina Faso, Cape Verde, Ivory Coast, Gambia, Ghana, Guinea, Guinea-Bissau, Liberia, Mali, Mauritania, Niger, Nigeria, Senegal, Sierra Leone, Togo.
    • East Africa: Burundi, Djibouti, Eritrea, Ethiopia, Kenya, Mauritius, Reunion, Rwanda, Sudan, Somalia, South Sudan, Tanzania, Uganda.
    • central Africa: Cameroon, Central African Republic, Chad, Congo, Democratic Republic of Congo, Equatorial Guinea, Gabon, São Tomé, Principe.
    • South Africa: Angola, Botswana, Comoros, Eswatini (Swaziland), Lesotho, Madagascar, Malawi, Mozambique, Namibia, Zambia, Zimbabwe.
  • Applications from female scientists are particularly encouraged.

For more information, visit

Comments are closed.